Canada's National Sledge Team Arrives in Vancouver on March 6; Daily Practices and Media Availability Begin on March 7
NR.024.10
|
March 6, 2010
|

CALGARY, Alta. – Canada’s National Sledge Team will begin its quest for gold at the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games with its first practice in Vancouver on Sunday, March 7.

Canada’s National Sledge Team will attempt to make it three gold medals for the nation’s hockey teams when the Paralympics open on March 12 in Vancouver, following gold medal wins for Canada’s men’s and women’s Olympic teams at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games.

All of the sledge team’s practices and games will be held at UBC.

NATIONAL SLEDGE TEAM SCHEDULE (MARCH 7-12)

March 7: practice from 2:15-3:30 p.m. (UBC Rink B)

March 8: practice from 12-1:15 p.m. (UBC Rink B)

March 9: pre-Olympic game vs. Czech Republic at 1:30 p.m. (UBC Rink A)

March 10: practice from 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m. (UBC Rink A)

March 11: practice from 10:15-11:30 a.m. (UBC Rink B)

March 12: practice from 9:30-10:45 a.m. (UBC Rink A)

NATIONAL SLEDGE TEAM GAME SCHEDULE (ALL TIMES PT)

March 13: Canada vs. Italy, 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET (live on Sportsnet Pacific; will air at 4 p.m. PT on CTV)

March 14: Canada vs. Sweden, 1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET (live on all Sportsnet stations)

March 16: Canada vs. Norway, 8:30 p.m. PT/11:30 p.m. ET (live on TSN)

Note: The broadcast schedule for the playoff round will be updated on hockeycanada.ca.

All media requests for Canada’s National Sledge Team can be directed to Chris Jurewicz at cjurewicz@hockeycanada.ca.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)
ldornan@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

   
Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
mbell@hockeycanada.ca
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
emadziya@hockeycanada.ca
   
Videos
Photos
2016 TELUS Cup - LSL 6 – LLO 2 (Bronze)
The Lions scored five times in the second period to win the bronze.
2016 MWU18C - USA 10 – CAN 3 (Bronze)
Bitten, Hall and Tippett scored, but Canada settled for fourth place.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 4 – SNB 1 (Gold)
Aidan Casey scored two to help the Rangers win their first TELUS Cup.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 5 – LLO 3 (Semifinal)
Calverley scored twice, and the Rangers advanced to play for gold.
Schedule
Close
Credit