Hockey Canada Network |
Crosby, Keith Receive Top NHL Honours Days Before Attending 'Canada Celebrates' Event in Edmonton
June 25, 2010

Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby and Chicago Blackhawks defenceman Duncan Keith, who have already won Olympic gold medals this year, added to their hardware Wednesday, June 23 at the 2010 NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Crosby (Cole Harbour, N.S.) received the Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award for exemplifying “great leadership qualities to his team” and the Maurice Richard Trophy for being one of two top goal scorers in the league, while Keith (Winnipeg, Man.) won the James Norris Memorial Trophy for demonstrating “the greatest all-round ability in the position” during the 2009-10 season.

Crosby and Keith were both members of the 2010 Men’s Olympic Team and will be in Edmonton, Alta. on Monday, June 28 for the Hockey Canada Foundation (HCF) Celebrity Classic gala, including the public Canada Celebrates event at Commonwealth Stadium. They are two of 61 Olympic and World hockey champions from 2009-10 who will be attending the highly-anticipated celebration.

Other Canadians honoured at the 2010 NHL Awards:

Martin Brodeur (Montreal, Que./New Jersey Devils) – William M. Jennings Trophy

Shane Doan (Halkirk, Alta./Phoenix Coyotes) – King Clancy Trophy

Steve Stamkos (Markham, Ont./Tampa Bay Lightning) – tied with Crosby for Maurice Richard Trophy

Martin St. Louis (Laval, Que./Tampa Bay Lightning) – Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

José Théodore (Laval, Que./Washington Capitals) – Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Dave Tippett (Moosomin, Sask./Phoenix Coyotes) – Jack Adams Award      

The NHL also announced its 2009-10 All-Rookie Team, which consists of the top six rookies from the season, including four players who represented Canada at the 2010 IIHF World Championship held in Germany this spring.

NHL All-Rookie Team members who played at this year’s World Championship:

Michael Del Zotto (Stouffville, Ont./New York Rangers)

Tyler Myers (Dewinton, Alta./Buffalo Sabres)

John Tavares (Oakville, Ont./New York Islanders)

Matthew Duchene (Haliburton, Ont./Colorado Avalanche)

For more information on the 2010 NHL Awards, go to

For more information on the upcoming HCF Celebrity Classic gala, including how to buy tickets for the Canada Celebrates event on June 28, go to

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 5 - OKA 4
Apr 24, 2014
Halifax scored four times in the third period to stun Okanagan.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - CHA 1
Apr 24, 2014
Harland had the winner to help the Young Nationals to the victory.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 4 – STC 3 (OT)
Apr 24, 2014
Alexandra Poznikoff scored 4:21 into overtime to win it for the Thunder.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
Photo Credit: