Semi-Final Saturday Set at 2009 Hockey Canada Cup in Vancouver, BC; Canada to Face Sweden and Usa Will Battle Finland
NR.134.09
|
September 3, 2009
|

VANCOUVER, B.C. – Canada’s National Women’s Team has concluded the round-robin portion of the 2009 Hockey Canada Cup with a 4-2 loss to the United States on Thursday night at GM Place.

The United States took a 1-0 lead into the third period, before opening with two quick goals to make it 3-0. Canada made it 3-1 on a goal by Meghan Agosta, but the US quickly answered back to make it 4-1. Brianne Jenner scored shortly after to make it 4-2 but that was as close as Canada would get. A crowd of over 6,000 people enjoyed the entertaining back-and-forth battle.

The United States finishes atop the preliminary-round standings with a 2-1 record. Canada had the same record but lost the head-to-head tiebreaker. Sweden and Finland were both 1-2 but Sweden takes third and Finland fourth due to Sweden’s 3-1 victory earlier on Thursday.

The United States will face Finland in the first semi-final on Saturday at 3 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET. Canada will face Sweden in the evening semi at 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET. Both games can be seen live on webcast at hockeycanada.ca.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)
ldornan@hockeycanada.ca

 

Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
mbell@hockeycanada.ca

 

Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
emadziya@hockeycanada.ca

 

Videos
Photos
2016 WSHC: USA 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
The line of Farmer, Roybal and McKee combined for six goals.
WSHC: CAN 10 – KOR 1 (Preliminary)
Brad Bowden’s six-point game led Canada to its second straight win.
2016 WSHC: USA 4 – KOR 0 (Preliminary)
The Americans scored three power play goals in an opening win.
2016 WSHC: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Westlake, Delaney and Sholomicki scored in Canada’s opening win.
Schedule
Close
Credit