Hockey Canada Network |
News
Canada to Face United States in Semifinal at 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship; Game to Be Tape Delayed on Tsn
NR.044.09
|
April 17, 2009
|
|

FARGO, N.D. – Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team will face the United States in a semifinal at the 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship in Fargo on Friday, April 17. The game can be seen tape delayed at 11:00 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT on TSN and 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT on Saturday on RDS.

The game begins at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT. Live game statistics can be found at www.iihf.com.

Canada’s finished the preliminary round with a 4-2 win over Sweden on Tuesday, clinching first place in Pool A with three regulation wins and an overtime victory, while the U.S. defeated the Czech Republic 6-2 in a Thursday quarter-final.

The game marks the second time in three years the North American rivals will meet in a semifinal at the U18 world championship – in 2007, the U.S. scored a shootout win over the Canadians in Tampere, Finland. Canada has won two of six all-time meetings with the Americans at the IIHF World Under-18 Championship.

Finland and Russia will meet in the other semifinal; that game begins at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT.

TSN and RDS will also broadcast the bronze medal game and gold medal game on Sunday, April 19. The gold medal game will be shown live on TSN2 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT and tape delayed to 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT on TSN and 3 p.m. ET/noon PT on Monday on RDS. The bronze medal game is scheduled for 4 p.m. EST/1 p.m. PT and will be broadcast live on TSN2 and RIS if it does not involve Canada, while it would be live on the main TSN network and RIS if Canada participates. Check your local listings for broadcast times in your area.


For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557
abrin@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada
403-777-4553
jlarose@hockeycanada.ca

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
klipscombe@hockeycanada.ca

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
kgoodrich@hockeycanada.ca

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - MON 2
Apr 24, 2014
Weyburn wrapped up its preliminary games with its fourth win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 5 - OKA 4
Apr 24, 2014
Halifax scored four times in the third period to stun Okanagan.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: