Hockey Canada Network |
Regina, Saskatchewan to Host 2010 Esso Cup
March 31, 2009

REGINA, Sask. – Hockey Canada has announced that Regina, Saskatchewan will play host to the 2010 Esso Cup, Canada’s National Female Midget Championship in April 2010. The Regina Rebels of the Saskatchewan Female Midget AAA Hockey League will be the host team.

The 2010 Esso Cup will feature at least five teams – one host team and four regional champions (Pacific, West, Ontario, Atlantic). Quebec, which was forced to withdraw from the 2009 Esso Cup due to scheduling conflicts, hopes to make its debut in the tournament in 2010.

The competing teams will play a five-day round robin, followed by semifinals (1st vs. 4th, 2nd vs. 3rd) and bronze and gold medal games. All games will take place at the Evraz Centre in Regina.

“The Saskatchewan Female Midget AAA Hockey League was one of the first leagues at the female Midget AAA level in Canada, and we are excited that it will play host to the national championship,” said Julie Healy, director of female hockey for Hockey Canada. “This year’s Esso Cup in Calgary is a tremendous step for women’s hockey in Canada, and we fully expect that growth to continue in Regina next year.”

“We are absolutely thrilled to have the opportunity to host this national event in Regina and to utilize the new facilities at Evraz Place,” said Lynn Tulloch, chair of the host committee. “Regina and its surrounding area is already a hotbed for female hockey and we're looking forward to creating a memorable week of activities for the entire female hockey community in addition to showcasing some of Canada's top female players.”

The 2009 Esso Cup will be held at Max Bell Arena in Calgary, Alta. from April 19-25. Four regional champions will compete with the host Calgary Flyers for the first-ever National Female Midget Championship. The gold medal game can be seen on TSN/RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada, on Saturday, April 25. Check your local listings for broadcast times in your area.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: WEY 2 - SUD 1
Apr 20, 2014
Jenica Whitrow scoredwith less than two minutes to play to winit for Weyburn.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - SVK 1
Apr 20, 2014
Brendan Perlini’s two goals led Canada to a victory over the Slovaks.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 8 - MON 1
Apr 20, 2014
Sixteen players goton the score sheetas the hosts coastedto an opening win.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 1 - FRA 0
Apr 20, 2014
Jessica Healey scoresthe game’s only goal as the Thunder winsits opener.
2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: