Hockey Canada Network |
Canada West Hopefuls Take Part in Evaluation Camps
October 6, 2008

With just weeks to go before defense of its gold medal begins at the 2008 World Junior A Challenge in Camrose, AB, Canada West hopefuls are gathering at evaluation camps to try and earn one of the 22 roster spots up for grabs.

Forty players from the Alberta Junior Hockey League are in Sherwood Park, AB for a one-day camp, set for Monday, October 6, while 40 players from the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League, Manitoba Junior Hockey League and Superior International Junior Hockey League are in Yorkton, SK from October 5-7 for a camp of their own.

The final roster, which will also include players from the British Columbia Hockey League, will be announced next week.

“The evaluation camps allow the staff an opportunity to evaluate talent for this year’s team,” says Canada West head coach Boris Rybalka. “This is the first time we’ll have a chance to evaluate all of the prospects as they compete against one another.”


James Bannister – Okotoks
Patrick Bartoshyk – Drumheller
Shawn Bates – Bonnyville
Wade Bergman – Olds
Marc Boulanger – Olds
Sean Cahill – Okotoks
Brett Cameron – Spruce Grove
Daniel Carr – St. Albert
Kodie Curran – Calgary Canucks
Aaron Dell – Calgary Canucks
Colin Dueck – Camrose
Wade Epp – Drumheller
Matt Esposito – Sherwood Park
Tanner Fritz – Grande Prairie
Matt Hallick – Brooks
Tyler Henry – Bonnyville
Jeff Jubinville – St. Albert
Corban Knight – Okotoks
Cody Kunyk – Sherwood Park
Cam Lamoureux – Drumheller
Josh Lee – Sherwood Park
Matt Mackay – Calgary Canucks
Andrew MacWilliam – Camrose
D.J. McDougall – Brooks
Steve Murray – Calgary Canucks
Kaare Odegard – Canmore
Dylan Olsen – Camrose
Zahn Raubenheimer – Grande Prairie
Doug Reid – Grande Prairie
Dennis Rix – Grande Prairie
Derek Rodwell – Okotoks
Steven Seigo – Bonnyville
Erik Slemp – Drumheller
Brett Slobodzian – Lloydminster
Michael Small – St. Albert
Brad Stebner – Fort McMurray
John Stimson – Brooks
David Way – Sherwood Park
Derek Weidmer – Drumheller
Bryce Williamson – St. Albert


Andrew Bodnarchuk – Humboldt
Spencer Braaten – Humboldt
Tommy Brown – Melfort
Clark Byczynski – Yorkton
Aaron DeCorby – Melville
John Esposito – Notre Dame
Chad Filteau – Estevan
Brody Haygarth – Estevan
Kenton Miller – Nipawin
Jaden Schwartz – Notre Dame
Rylan Schwartz – Notre Dame
Torey Stott – Yorkton
Mitchell Stretch – Notre Dame
Rhys Thomas – Weyburn
AJ Whiffen – Weyburn
Cole Wilson – Flin Flon
Michael Young – Flin Flon


Zeanan Buternowski – OCN
Ryan Duhaime – Waywayseecappo
Eddie Friesen – Portage
Tim Hayduk – Winnipeg
Colan Jackson – Selkirk
Shane Luke – Dauphin
Scott Macauley – Winnipeg
Colin Phaneuf – Winnipeg South
Josh Schappert – Selkirk
Steve Shamanski – Dauphin
Craig Simchuk – Winnipeg
Adam Stoykewich – Winnipeg South
Caleb Suderman – Winkler
Chris Ward – Swan Valley
Dale Warkentin – OCN
Michael Wilgosh – Selkirk
Brent Wilson – Portage


Mitch Cain – Fort Frances
Jordan Davis – Fort William
Carson Dubchak – Fort Frances
Michael MacDonald – Fort William
Graeme Macormack – Thunder Bay
Drew Strandberg – Thunder Bay

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2014 PARA: Welcome to Sochi
Mar 02, 2014
Canada’s National Sledge Team has arrived ahead of the Paralympics.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: