Hockey Canada Network |
Canada's National Men's Team Announced for 2007 Spengler Cup
December 17, 2007

CALGARY – Hockey Canada announced on Monday the 22 players who will make up Canada’s National Men’s Team for the 2007 Spengler Cup, to be held from December 26th to 31st in Davos, Switzerland.

The roster is comprised of Canadian-born players currently playing in Europe, along with NHL prospects loaned to Hockey Canada from National Hockey League teams. The team was selected by Hockey Canada executive vice-president of hockey Johnny Misley, Team Canada’s general manager for the 2007 Spengler Cup, along with head coach Sean Simpson and assistant coaches Jim Koleff and Doug Gilmour.


“We are very excited about the players who we have assembled to represent Canada at the 2007 Spengler Cup,” Misley says. “As a staff, we feel these players give Canada the best chance at winning another Spengler Cup championship.”

The team that will take part at the 2007 Spengler Cup includes four returnees from the 2006 Spengler Cup (Heins, Pittis, Law, Syvret) and three players with IIHF World Junior Championship experience (Domenichelli, Murray, Syvret).

Hockey Canada also announced that goaltender Curtis Joseph (Keswick, ON), who played for the St. Louis Blues, Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs, Detroit Red Wings and Phoenix Coyotes during his 17 seasons in the NHL and won an Olympic gold medal in 2002, will be one of Canada’s goaltenders at the 2007 Spengler Cup. Joseph also appeared for Canada at the 1996 World Cup of Hockey and the 1996 IIHF World Championship.

“We are extremely pleased to have Curtis back in a Canadian jersey for this year’s Spengler Cup,” Misley says. “Curtis is really looking forward to this experience and playing for his country once again.”

Serge Aubin (Val d'Or, QC) has been named Canada’s captain for the 2007 Spengler Cup. In addition, it was announced that Yves Sarault (Valleyfield, QC) and Domenic Pittis (Calgary, AB) will serve as alternate captains.

This year’s Spengler Cup will include Canada’s National Men’s Team, HC Davos (host team), Adler Mannheim (Germany), HC Moeller Pardubice (Czech Republic) and Salavat Yulaev Ufa (Russia).

CANADA’S SCHEDULE – all times listed are local
December 26th HC Moeller Pardubice 8:15 p.m.
December 27th HC Davos 8:15 p.m.
December 29th Salavat Yulaev Ufa 3:00 p.m.
December 30th Adler Mannheim 3:00 p.m.
December 31st Championship Game 12:00 p.m.

All of Canada’s games at the 2007 Spengler Cup will be broadcast on Rogers Sportsnet (check your local listings for game times).

Canada has appeared in six of the last seven championship games, winning the Spengler Cup in 20. Overall, Canada’s National Men’s Team has won the Spengler Cup 10 times (1984, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2003), since first taking part in the tournament in 1984.

The Spengler Cup, held annually since 1923, is the oldest professional international hockey tournament in the world.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - RUS 3 (SO)
Apr 22, 2014
A shootout loss was still enough for Canada to clinch first in Group A.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 ESSO CUP STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 – FRA 0
Apr 21, 2014
Sabres score twice on the power play to defeat Phantom Monday night.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 5 - MON 1
Apr 21, 2014
Karli Shell scored twice and added an assist in Sudbury’s 5-1 win.
2014 TELUS Cup: CHA 3 - OKA 4
Apr 21, 2014
Special teams was key as the Rockets and Grenadiers skated to a tie.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 2 - MJ 2
Apr 21, 2014
The Generals scored twice in the third period to earn the draw.
Photo Credit: