Hockey Canada Network |
World Championship History
October 29, 2002

For the purpose of clarity, the first World Championship was held in 1930, as reported in the CHA’s news release on . However, the Olympic Ice Hockey Tournaments between 19 are also recognized by the IIHF as World Championships. As an additional footnote, the IIHF also staged European Championships between 19.

The following information has been taken from the IIHF website.

IIHF World Championships/Championnats mondiaux de l’IIHF
Year Gold Silver Bronze Venue
Année Or Argent Bronze Site
European Championship/Championnat européen
1910 Great Britain Germany Belgium Les Avants
1911 Bohemia Germany Belgium Berlin
1912 Cancelled/Annulé
1913 Belgium Bohemia Germany Munich
1914 Bohemia Germany Belgium Berlin
World Championships/Championnats mondiaux
1920 Canada USA Czechoslovakia Antwerp (Olympics)
1924 Canada USA Great Britain Chamonix (Olympics)
1928 Canada Sweden Switzerland St. Moritz (Olympics)
1930 Canada Germany Switzerland Chamonix/Berlin
1931 Canada USA Austria Krynica
1932 Canada USA Germany Lake Placid (Olympics)
1934 Canada USA Germany Milan
1935 Canada Switzerland Great Britain Davos
1936 Great Britain Canada USA Garmisch-Part. (Olympics)
1937 Canada Great Britain Switzerland London
1938 Canada Great Britain Czechoslovakia Prague
1939 Canada USA Switzerland Zurich/Basle
1940-1946 No championships/Aucun championnat
1947 Czechoslovakia Sweden Austria Prague
1948 Canada Czechoslovakia Switzerland St. Moritz (Olympics)
1949 Czechoslovakia Canada USA Stockholm
1950 Canada USA Switzerland London
1951 Canada Sweden Switzerland Paris
1952 Canada USA Sweden Oslo (Olympics)
1953 Sweden FR Germany Switzerland Zurich/Basle
1954 Soviet Union Canada Sweden Stockholm
1955 Canada Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Krefeld/Dortmund/Cologne
1956 Soviet Union USA Canada Cortina (Olympics)
1957 Sweden Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Moscow
1958 Canada Soviet Union Sweden Oslo
1959 Canada Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Prague/Bratislava
1960 USA Canada Soviet Union Squaw Valley (Olympics)
1961 Canada Czechoslovakia Soviet Union Geneva/Lausanne
1962 Sweden Canada USA Colorado Springs/Denver
1963 Soviet Union Sweden Czechoslovakia Stockholm
1964 Soviet Union Sweden Czechoslovakia Innsbruck (Olympics)
1965 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Sweden Tampere
1966 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Canada Ljubljana
1967 Soviet Union Sweden Canada Vienna
1968 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Canada Grenoble (Olympics)
1969 Soviet Union Sweden Czechoslovakia Stockholm
1970 Soviet Union Sweden Czechoslovakia Stockholm
1971 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Sweden Berne/Geneva
1972 Czechoslovakia Soviet Union Sweden Prague
1973 Soviet Union Sweden Czechoslovakia Moscow
1974 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Sweden Helsinki
1975 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Sweden Munich/Dusseldorf
1976 Czechoslovakia Soviet Union Sweden Katowice
1977 Czechoslovakia Sweden Soviet Union Vienna
1978 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Canada Prague
1979 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Sweden Moscow
1981 Soviet Union Sweden Czechoslovakia Gothenburg/Stockholm
1982 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Canada Helsinki/Tampere
1983 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Canada Dusserldorf/Dortmund/Munich
1985 Czechoslovakia Canada Soviet Union Prague
1986 Soviet Union Sweden Canada Moscow
1987 Sweden Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Vienna
1989 Soviet Union Canada Czechoslovakia Stockholm/Sodertalje
1990 Soviet Union Sweden Czechoslovakia Berne/Fribourg
1991 Sweden Canada Soviet Union Turku/Helsinki/Tampere
1992 Sweden Finland Czechoslovakia Prague/Bratislava
1993 Russia Sweden Czech Republic Dortmund/Munich
1994 Canada Finland Sweden Bolzano/Canazei/Milano
1995 Finland Sweden Canada Stockholm/Gavle
1996 Czech Republic Canada USA Vienna
1997 Canada Sweden Czech Republic Helsinki/Turku/Tampere
1998 Sweden Finland Czech Republic Zurich/Basle
1999 Czech Republic Finland Sweden Oslo/Lillehammer/Hamar
2000 Czech Republic Slovakia Finland St. Petersburg
2001 Czech Republic Finland Sweden Cologne/Hanover/Nurnberg
2002 Slovakia Russia Sweden Goteborg/Karlstad/Jonkoping


1. The tournaments between 19 were European Championships.

2. All Olympic Ice Hockey Tournaments between 19 also counted as World Championships.

3. In the Olympic years 1980, 19, no IIHF World Championships were staged.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
Photo Credit: