Hockey Canada Network |
1997 Esso Women's National Championship Tournament Set for Richmond, B.C. From March 6-9
February 25, 1997

RICHMOND, B.C. -- The Esso Women's National Hockey Championship, an eight-team tournament featuring many of the best female hockey players on the planet, is set for the Minoru Arena from March 6-9.

The annual Esso Women's Nationals is jointly presented by Canadian Hockey, Imperial Oil, Air Canada, the Royal Bank and the local organizing committee and is one of the most important events presented during the Canadian Hockey season. This will be the 16th annual women's national championship, with Team Quebec returning as defending champion. Quebec has won the last three straight national women's titles.

Three-time champion Edmonton Chimos (1984, 85, 92) will be participating, representing Alberta, and the two-time champion Toronto Aeros (1991, 1993), the Ontario champion, also will be competing in the tournament.

This year's event features at least 20 players who have won at least one gold medal for Canada at the Women's World Hockey Championship, and most of the players who will represent Canada at this year's world tournament in Kitchener, Ont., from March 31 - April 6. Canada is gunning for a fourth straight gold medal at the World's.

"If you want to see the premier players in Canada today, the Esso Women's Nationals gives you that opportunity," said Karen Wallace, director of female hockey for Canadian Hockey. "This event allows us to continue our evaluation process leading eventually to the selection of our team for the 1998 Winter Olympic Games. We'll see plenty of great talent and hard-fought games.

"With some great provincial rivalries and several former gold medal teams taking part, these games could prove to be most exciting. I'm convinced that our spectators will be entertained and amazed by the talent on the ice," added Ms. Wallace.

"This year we're especially pleased to have Imperial Oil, Air Canada and Royal Bank as sponsors for the event ," said Frank Libera, policy committee member and Canada's representative on the International Ice Hockey Federation's Women's Committee. "For years, these sponsors have been outstanding contributors to Canadian Hockey through their support of our national teams and minor hockey system."

Becki Bookham, chairperson of the organizing committee for the Esso Women's Nationals, noted that the Vancouver area was privileged to be hosting a major women's tournament for the second time in less than 12 months.

"We held the Pacific Rim championship last April and now, with the Esso Women's Nationals coming to Richmond, it's another opportunity for fans to watch many of the players who compete for Canada internationally," said Bookham. "It's nice for us to be a part of the process that leads through the Women's World Hockey Championship in Kitchener to the Winter Olympics in Nagano."

The 1997 championship will be contested between teams from eight provinces, divided into two pools of four teams. Pool A includes Quebec, Manitoba, B.C. and New Brunswick, while Alberta, Saskatchewan, P.E.I. and Ontario will compete in Pool B. The round-robin portion of the tournament goes Thursday, March 6 and Friday, March 7, with the playoff round, including the gold-medal final game, on Saturday, March 8 and Sunday, March 9.

The 1997 Esso Women's National Championship game will be played at 4 p.m. (7:00 p.m. EST), and will be televised live on TSN, and its Quebec-based sister network, Le Réseau des Sports (RDS).

In addition to competing for the Esso Women's National Championship title and the Abby Hoffman Cup, five individual awards and one team award will be presented to those deserving players for: most valuable player, top defence, top forward, top goaltender, top scorer, the Mickey Walker most sportsmanlike player award and the Canon K. Richardson most sportsmanlike team shield.


Richmond, B.C.

Pool A -Quebec, Manitoba, B.C., New Brunswick

Pool B -Alberta, Ontario, P.E.I., Saskatchewan


1 Stadium Quebec vs New Brunswick 9:00 am

2 Spectrum B.C. vs Manitoba 9:30 am

3 Stadium Alberta vs. Saskatchewan 11:15 am

4 Spectrum Ontario vs. P.E.I. 11:45 pm


5 Stadium New Brunswick vs. B.C. 4:30 pm

6 Spectrum Alberta vs. Ontario. 6:30 pm


7 Stadium Saskatchewan vs. P.E.I 8:00 am

8 Spectrum New Brunswick vs. Manitoba 10:00 am

9 Stadium Quebec vs. B.C.. 10:15 pm

10 Stadium Ontario vs. Saskatchewan 2:30 pm

11 Stadium P.E.I. vs. Alberta 4:45 pm

12 Spectrum Manitoba vs. Quebec 7:00 pm


13 Stadium 2nd Pool A vs 3rd Pool B 8:30 am

14 Stadium 2nd Pool B vs 3rd Pool A 10:45 am

15 Spectrum 4th Pool A vs 4th Pool B 10:30 pm

16 Stadium Winner Game 13 vs. B-1 1:30 pm

17 Stadium A-1 vs. Winner Game 14 4:00 pm


18 Stadium Loser Game 13 vs. Loser Game 14 9:00 am

19 Stadium Loser Game 16 vs. Loser Game 17 12:00 noon

20 Stadium Winner Game 16 vs. Winner Game 17 4:00 pm

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 5 - OKA 4
Apr 24, 2014
Halifax scored four times in the third period to stun Okanagan.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 4 – STC 3 (OT)
Apr 24, 2014
Alexandra Poznikoff scored 4:21 into overtime to win it for the Thunder.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 2 - MJ 1
Apr 24, 2014
Michasiw’s 30-save shutout led the Mintos to the semifinals.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - MON 2
Apr 24, 2014
Weyburn wrapped up its preliminary games with its fourth win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - CHA 1
Apr 24, 2014
Harland had the winner to help the Young Nationals to the victory.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
Photo Credit: