2015 Esso Cup
The top teams in Canadian women’s Midget hockey are coming to Red Deer, Alta., to compete for the Esso Cup, and full-tournament, 15-game ticket packages are now available for just $50. Catch every game at Red Deer Arena live on the road to gold.
One year after needing a tiebreaker to clinch first place, the Mid Isle Wildcats – fuelled by the league’s most high-octane offence – used a mid-season 14-game unbeaten run to claim the P.E.I. regular season championship outright.
A season-opening 13-game winning streak gave the Saskatoon Stars a cushion they would never relinquish, as the team rode the No. 1 offence and No. 1 defence to 24 wins in 28 games and their first SFMAAAHL regular season championship.
Lauren Tarashuk and Kathleen Kosior backstopped the league’s stingiest defence and win streaks of five, eight and five games helped the Central Plains Capitals clinch the 2014-15 MFMHL regular season championship.
Thanks to the league’s No. 1 offence and No. 2 defence – as well as an early season 15-game winning streak – the Northern Cougars distanced themselves from the pack to claim the B.C. Female Midget AAA League regular season crown.
Balanced scoring and the league’s best goaltending tandem – not to mention a win on the last day of the season – keyed Metro Boston Pizza to the top of the Nova Scotia Female Midget AAA Hockey League standings for the sixth consecutive year.
With scoring coming from up and down the line-up, the Calgary Fire ran off winning streaks of five games or more three times to edge the Esso Cup hosts and finish on top of the Alberta Major Midget Female Hockey League regular season standings.
With nine players returning from last year’s Atlantic Region champs and eight of the league’s top 12 scorers this year, the Moncton Rockets lost only once on their way to the top of the New Brunswick Female Midget AAA Hockey League standings.
Red Deer, Alta., has been awarded the 2015 Esso Cup and will play host to Canada’s National Female Midget Championship next April at Red Deer Arena, with the AMMFHL’s Red Deer Chiefs serving as the tournament’s host team.
Photo Credit: