2010 National Midget Championship

Mississauga Reps  2 -  Notre Dame Hounds  3


LÉVIS, QUE. – It’s not how many you score but when you score them. Just ask Liam O’Brien.

The Halifax native went goalless throughout the week at the 2010 TELUS Cup. That is, until, the 7:56 mark of the third period of the gold medal game when O’Brien scored the go-ahead goal to give the Notre Dame Hounds a 3-2 victory over the Mississauga Reps.

It is Notre Dame’s second-straight TELUS Cup title and fourth National Midget Championship of all-time. That ties the Regina Pat Canadiens for most titles all-time.

O’Brien’s goal sent another pro-Notre Dame crowd into a collective roar. The goal came just under three minutes after Erick Locke (Toronto, Ont.) scored his second goal of the game for Mississauga to tie the game at 2-2.

Marcus Messier (Canmore, Alta.) gave the Hounds a one-goal lead earlier in the third period, when his power play marker made it 2-1. The teams exchanged goals in the first period, with Locke opening the scoring and tournament MVP Slater Koekkoek (Mountain, Ont.) tying things up later in the frame.

Malcom Subban was the story of this final, despite being the losing goaltender. Subban made 55 saves in the Mississauga net to keep his team in the game.

This was Mississauga’s first trip to the National Midget Championship.


Game Information
Game Number 19  Round Gold Medal
Arena Aréna de Lévis City, Country Lévis, Que., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/25/2010 Time (local) 02:30 PM ET
Attendance Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Mississauga Reps (CEN) 1 0 1 2
Notre Dame Hounds (WST) 0 1 2 3
First Period
   10:10 CEN 55 Eric Locke (13 Wes Deme) PP

   07:34 CEN 13 Wes Deme (Tripping)
   09:35 WST 7 Liam O’Brien (Interference)
   14:44 CEN 9 Josh Wiley (Delay of Game)

Second Period
   03:57 WST 20 Slater Koekkoek (16 Yannick Laflamme, 11 Stefan Matteau)

   01:54 CEN 74 Zachary Pryzbek (Roughing)
   05:33 WST 17 Marcus Basara (Hooking)
   19:16 CEN 77 Jake Crow (Roughing After Whistle)
   19:16 WST 17 Marcus Basara (Roughing After Whistle)

Third Period
   02:53 WST 8 Marcus Messier (20 Slater Koekkoek) PP
   04:59 CEN 55 Eric Locke (51 Alex D’Oliveira)
   07:56 WST 7 Liam O’Brien (15 Daniel Dale, 2 Ryan MacKinnon)

   01:20 CEN 74 Zachary Pryzbek (Tripping)

Mississauga Reps
1 Malcolm Subban On 1/00:00   Off 3/18:25
1 Malcolm Subban On 3/18:52   Off 3/19:08
Notre Dame Hounds
30 Riley Parker On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Mississauga Reps 7 7 11 25
Notre Dame Hounds 22 19 17 58

Player of Game
Mississauga Reps 1 Malcolm Subban
Notre Dame Hounds 20 Slater Koekkoek
Referee Pierre Lambert